Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Turning events
02-12-2009, 08:18 PM
Turning events
Here I am, I'm not very good at writing and even less in English, but as I have Spooks forum withdrawal symptoms...

Please, let me know if there are mistakes. (I thought giving it to my English teacher to correct it, but I don't think it is a good idea)

It is set after episode 8.1.

Turning events

It had been an endless night, she could barely sleep.
Her life had changed so much over those last few days. Alone again, one of the most recurring fears she had had in her entire life.

To clear her head, she decided to go for a walk a long the river Thames. She used to, when she needed to think.
It was cloudy but some sun’s rays could avoid the clouds, warming the freezing morning.
Hard times. In a few days she had lost the life she had carefully built from scratch. And now, what? She felt lost and unprotected. Her life had been simple and elegant for once. Now, those years seemed a dream in her head, like they had never happened, like the events only happened in her imagination. Utter confusion.

She paused and leaned on the balustrade. The breeze stroke her hair as tears streamed down her face. She inhaled deeply, “Calm down, Ruth”, she said to herself.
The Thames looked so beautiful in the first morning sunlight. She had really missed it.

She shivered as one red boat passed by. Instinctively, she looked at her watch. Eight o’clock... At that very same time 3 years ago, she had been there, standing by the river, waiting for a similar boat, waiting to leave her own life back, waiting to start a new life anywhere. She was scared then and she was scared now.

She thought of Harry... She thought of George... Her eyes filled with tears again, her heart aching...

The sun went into hiding behind the clouds. It was cold.

“Do you love him?” Harry’s words echoed in her head. How dare he?